Everything Whitetails


New year and new fears?
January 22, 2013, 11:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Back in October, I touched on the joy that the first frost brought an end to EHD that plagued most of the Midwest. Sadly up till that frost Giant Whitetails were dying daily here in the mid-west.  Thinking now what a short lived joy that was that the frost came so late, so now I ask what’s next.

Not sure if I can answer that, I wish I knew what the future holds for the many hunters and land owners affected by EHD but I can’t sadly.

I know that with me it starts as with any other year the weekend’s mornings just walking each farm and trying to take in all the information about, what survivors made it thru another winter. Taking this time is really just a small step to the rebuilding process (Which may take years) but the first step is the most important.

 

You can read the October blog below.

 

Hunt Well, Hunt Safe

Brandon C. Hammonds

 

 

 

FROST EQUALS THE END TO EHD!

October 9, 2012, 6:51 pm |

Frost equals the end to EHD!

 

I have never ever celebrated the first frost as much as I have this year. EHD has really put a major hurt on my farm here in MI and as well in Illinois where my lease is. Sadly my MI farm was really in the heart of the most reported cases of EHD. I have been part of finding over 33 here in Southern MI. My lease in Illinois is around 20 that we have found.

Right Now the state of MI has over 8490 confirmed EHD deaths. Illinois has reports of 40 of the 106 counties in the state with EHD.

I am going to breathe a little easier knowing its over for this year, but the damage has really been done and the recover process begins.

Here are sadly some of the deer I’ve found between MI and ILL (caution graphic)

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hopefully it won’t be so bad this year!

Comment by Ben




Leave a comment